Skip to content

What happened to our right to protest?

September 16, 2009

Because of recent events, I’ve decided to postpone my post about patriotism for at least a week or so. Sorry if I got anyone’s hopes up!

Of course by now, most of you have heard about Joe Wilson’s outburst at Obama’s health care speech this past week. The media has erupted in outrage. Although Rep. Wilson can thank Kanye West for stealing some of the controversy these past few days. Wilson’s statement might have crossed the line, but Conservatives like the representative and all of the loyal Conservatives potenially reading this post have many reasons to be upset. We tried to protest peacefully through tea parties and ralleys, but were in turn called rednecks and racists. What has this country become?

We are not only allowed to protest according to the Constitution, we are required to do so if a situation arises in which our guaranteed rights are being trampled upon. In a time such as this, our rights are not only being trampled upon, they are being revoked. Not only are we not allowed to protest, we might soon not be able to choose our own medical care.

Our right to choose our own medical practitioners should be a guaranteed right, not a decision to be made by the government because of convenience or cost effectiveness. Not only will we be limited in our valid right to choose (and on a side note, just because I say we have the right to choose doesn’t mean I’m pro choice, because I’m not, I’m pro life) but on top of that, we might have to pay excessive taxes for the care of others. This health care system is being portrayed by liberals as a charitable, “fair” system. The definition of “fair” has been greatly distorted through these discussion. Fair doesn’t always mean equal. And if they are so consumed with everyone being the same and having the same things, then why not have a flat tax rate? Common sense often dwindles as years spent in Congress go by. That’s not to say that all politicians are exact replicas of the stereotypes laid against them, because some are not. It seems as if many lost touch with reality and become distracted by the glittering lights of power and control. Anyway, I’m rambling.

I’d like to make my closing statements by tying them into my intoduction (come on, I’ve taken college english classes, I know how this is supposed to work). Joe Wilson has recently been dubbed a “racist” by none other than Obama’s presidential clone, former President Carter. Did Wilson use the word “black” or make any reference to the president’s race? Not that I recall. And since when does stating you beliefs make you a racist? If it does, then the definition of the word much have changed since I last checked. I’m not saying that I comment the representative’s actions, but I will not also say that I wouldn’t have done the same thing in the situation. When our right to free speech is violated such as it has been with the recent condemnation of Republicans at town hall meetings and tea parties, it is only natural that we seek to lash out in order to release our anger in a different way. It might not be the healthy way, but the healthy way of letting out our frustrations is being repressed. In conlusion, I’d like to say that I’m not a professional writer or political pundit, but I believe that I have a voice. I feel blessed to live in a country where I can let my voice be heard by those who wish to listen. Is anyone listening. Thank you for the brief time you have taken to read my ramblings and I pray that those reading, conservative or not, will stop to think about the state of our nation at the moment. The greatest thing you can do is remain educated.

Thank you and God Bless,

Yet another typical white person

7 Comments leave one →
  1. kokj75 permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:54 pm

    I’m right there with ya… typical white person.

  2. September 17, 2009 6:43 am

    I am all for responsible reporting on the public airwaves! Those that use the airwaves to deliberately and repeatedly use fabrications that are not true, are dangerous to the public safety and to the constitution that is supposed to guarantee our rights of free speech. Americans have free speech rights, … but not the freedom to shout “FIRE!” when their is no fire, inside a crowded theatre!
    The irresponsable reporting by the likes of “Glenn Beck” creates a “mob” mentality! A mob mentality that can and will (according to history) incite to violence, those that are portrayed as different from that of the mob!
    Let’s face it! There are those in america that are looking forward to inciting a “RACE WAR,” and are using the public air waves and the fact of a black president to incite mobs to act violently against the government of the USA!
    You have to be blind to not recognize the conservative movement direction toward insurection of a pluralistic and multi-cultural america and instituting in it’s place what existed in our racist fundamentalist bigoted past!
    All of this backward movement toward our unenlightened past is being done in the name of fighting “COMMUNISM!

    http://despicable.wordpress.com/

    • agl444 permalink*
      September 17, 2009 3:08 pm

      Thanks for your reply, but I do have to turn a couple of questions on you. I disagree with the public health care option, reckless government spending, and higher taxes. All of which are issues that are being protested now by conservatives. I will agree with you that some protesters have resorted to violence, but this is a very rare number. I’ve been to a couple of them within the last year or so and the only conflict I saw was initiated by the opposition to the protest, and even then it was only a passing insult and nothing more. I completely disagree and am actually offended about your comments about the race wars. I do agree that there are some people out there like that, but it is nothing close to the number that you are assuming. How is protesting health care racist? I know that Obama is black, but just because conservatives protest against him doesn’t mean that we are racist. What is the correlation between the color of his skin and our dislike for his public policies? The only people who have used the word “racist” are liberals and those backing the president (except Glenn Beck, and I do believe that his comment crossed the line, but was not completely undeserved). Why is it that black people were not called racist for shouting at George Bush? I know that Bush is in the majority race, but the comments made by his dissenters are similar to those stated by those against Obama. Can’t Obama just be a president instead of a “black” president? The color of his skin has nothing to do with the fact that I disagree with him. I actually would rather have him in office than far left radicals like Nancy Pelosi (if you didn’t know, she’s white). And lastly, about your free speech comments. I know that there are limits to free speech, but we need to just accept the fact others are not going to agree with us all of the time. We also need to accept the fact that we might not be right in our beliefs all of the time either. I don’t appreciate being called a racist, redneck, “teabagger” by liberals such as Janeane Garafolo. How do my opinions constitute such language? I’m not saying that there are not conservatives who use such language, but such ideas are not acceptable to many mainstream media outlets. Garafolo was almost praised for her comments by the media, if not, they at least ignored the gravity of her comments. Please don’t think that the liberal’s reports of the tea parties are “responsible reporting”. The media is meant to be unbiased, but unfortunately it never is. Even FoxNews, which I believe is the closest to unbiased as is possible, was biased on the issue, even though they were completely on the other side. I’d like to close by saying that I commend you for stating your opinion while straying away from directly calling me a racist or redneck, such as I have been called for my beliefs before. I will say that you insinuated some things about me as a conservative that I take offense to, but that is your opinion and you are most certainly entitled to it by the Constitution

  3. September 19, 2009 12:39 am

    First you’ll note that the senator wasn’t stopped from his outburst, only that it has upset people and they’re reacting. The right to do something doesn’t stop people from responding within their own rights or shield you from negative consequences of your actions. That said I don’t really consider this to be a serious issue, just another distraction. What I would like to ask you is this. Given the fact that our money is currently being frittered away, and this is wrong, and our freedoms are being destroyed, what were you during the past 8 years under Bush’s administration when our money was being frittered away and our freedoms were being destroyed? Why didn’t you make this blog years ago and only just now? What will you do when a politician claiming to be a conservative comes into power, and then proceeds to use money gained by taxes to reward his friends and punish his enemies and destroy your freedoms to do it like he inevitably will, just like all of them for almost a hundred years now have done?

    To elaborate on this I’d like you to consider this. Currently the plan is to forcibly extract wealth from you and give it to other people, as mandated by government, to pay for health care. Is there any other plan, such as a war*, a tax cut funded by printing more money that caused inflation, a bailout, money for an ad campaign, money or resources given to an organization faith based or otherwise, that you can think of that you supported? And if the answer is yes, why was it ok to forcibly extra wealth from people for that program and not for health care?

    *Technically I mean police action. The United States has not declared war since it declared war on the Axis powers in World War II.

  4. agl444 permalink*
    September 20, 2009 11:07 pm

    I do not intend to stand up for what President Bush did. I believe that he was a better president than Obama is now, but he did spend an extreme amount of money on things we do not need or want. Obama’s spending, though is even more extreme than Bush’s was, and he has been president for less than a year. I’m not trying to compare Bush and Obama, because they both did things that were not in the interest of the American people, I have just decided to write a blog now because I was in no position to do so when Bush was president.

    • September 30, 2009 2:12 pm

      Well of course Obama is spending more than Bush was. And Bush spend more than Clinton, Clinton spent more than Bush Sr., and Bush Sr. spent more than Regan. Whoever is after Obama will spend far more than Obama, and whoever comes after him will spend even more. It’s an unbroken pattern we’ve had going on for at least the past 80 years. The worst president in office is always the current one, regardless of whoever that may be.

  5. September 21, 2009 5:06 pm

    Great blog- will definitely keep reading. As a nurse working in an already overburdened ER, I am dreading the changes that will come with Obamacare. While I think there are many areas that need improvement, I believe that most Americans truly do not know how good they have it. When I get patients from other countries, they always comment on the quality of care we provide and how our “lines” are NOTHING compared to those in England or Canada. Also a big fan of Glenn Beck- keep it up!

Leave a Reply

